My Hero <3

1458637_10202413426796018_886193080_n1465399_10202413426676015_287011653_n8616_10202413426836019_277234393_n
Today is Veterans’ Day. It is the day of the year set aside to honor those who’ve served our nation.

See that cute soldier? He’s mine. While I’m not willing to share him for husbandly duties, for almost two and a half decades I shared him with every single one of you as a defender of freedom.

My Dear Hubby willingly and gladly put his life on the line to defend and protect not only the American people, but the people of the nations he deployed to. He has served with integrity and honor. Even after being falsely accused of conspiracy and fraud and spending almost four years under federal investigation, he stepped into his last active duty position with the same dedication and willingness to serve this nation as every other role he held as a soldier. He is a true American hero.

In case you live under a rock and you missed it, this week America elected a new President. In the days following the election people who did not support the President-elect have protested, rioted, physically attacked those who they “think” voted him in, and burned the American flag.

1 Timothy 2:1-3  The first thing I want you to do is pray. Pray every way you know how, for everyone you know. Pray especially for rulers and their governments to rule well so we can be quietly about our business of living simply, in humble contemplation. This is the way our Savior God wants us to live.

1 Peter 2:17 Make the Master proud of you by being good citizens. Respect the authorities, whatever their level; they are God’s emissaries for keeping order. It is God’s will that by doing good, you might cure the ignorance of the fools who think you’re a danger to society. Exercise your freedom by serving God, not by breaking the rules. Treat everyone you meet with dignity. Love your spiritual family. Revere God. Respect the government.

Although I think political preferences are private matters and I greatly appreciate the curtain around a voting both, I’d like to make it clear that I did not support either major candidate. Since the primaries I’ve been genuinely sad that Trump and Clinton were the best we could come up with out of the entire American population. However, on January 20th, Donald Trump will become my President. And because he is the man chosen by God, or allowed by God, to fill that position, I will respect him and I will pray for him. Not because of who he is or anything he’s done, but because I am a follower of Christ and because God commands it.

My guy served this nation under FIVE Presidents. If you don’t know any veterans, there is something you need to understand. Those men and women who put on uniforms and risk their lives for freedom are not serving a President. They are serving YOU. When you burn an American flag you are not displaying your disrespect for the President. You are displaying disrespect for my husband and every other American veteran. It’s like spitting in the face of those who are willing to die for you.

So today, on the day we honor those who’ve fought for freedom, I ask you to put aside whatever negative emotions you’re having about this week’s election and thank a veteran for their service. Instead of protesting and rioting, thank a veteran for your freedom to do so. And no matter what side of the political aisle you sit on, pray for our leaders. They need it.

Thank you, Babe, for giving me the freedom to express my beliefs (even when they don’t align with yours). I love you immeasurably and I’m eternally indebted to you for your service. 1530445_10202748513812984_1419901548_n

 

Leave a Reply

