legitimate

I published this post more than four years ago. It’s one I need to reread periodically. And who knows? Maybe you need to read it too.

Waving a White Flag

You might want to sit down for this one.  I’ve got a week’s worth of purpose to find in this post.

1le·git·i·mate

Pronunciation: li-ˈji-tə-mət

Function: adjective
1 a: lawfully begotten; specifically: born in wedlock b: having filial rights
2: being exactly as purposed
3 a: in accordance with the law

This word and it’s many applications have been on my mind for quite some time.  My parents divorced when I was five years old.   I was born a legitimate child, but by definition, I was illegitimate from that point on.  I still had a Dad and I still had a relationship with him, but the minute my parents stopped living together, I lost my filial rights.

How’s that for a word of the day.  Just so you don’t have to open another tab and look up the meaning of filial (like I did), it’s…

View original post 1,824 more words

One thought on “legitimate

  1. tinamolliefisher says:

    Beautiful! I don’t even know you but I love you dearly!! 🙂 such a great writer!!

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

Leave a Reply

