raising royalty

Last night, as I was driving to my local HomeGoods store, I heard a DJ on a local Christian radio station say something like, “Can you imagine the weight on Prince William?  I mean, seriously.  He has the burden of raising the heir to the throne.”  His words may have been a little different, but that’s the gist of it.  He went on to say something about how few similarities exist between him and Prince William.

He irked me.

The more he talked, the more his words got under my skin.

This man is a DJ on a CHRISTIAN radio station.

Do you see the problem with what he was saying?

Let’s skip over the fact that he failed to see that we are ALL EQUAL in the eyes of God.

What irked me is that he failed to see that every single parent who calls themselves a follower of Christ, is raising an heir to a throne.

I often have people look at me and say things like, “I don’t know how you do what you do for Sofija.”  or “How do you keep fighting for Seth and Sofija?”  or “I could NEVER fight like you do for your kids!”

Here’s my response…  It’s easy.  I just remind myself that I’m raising royalty.

1 Peter 2:9  But you are a chosen race, a ROYAL PRIESTHOOD, a holy nation, a people of his own, so that you may proclaim the virtues of the one who called you out of darkness into his marvelous light.

Today Sofija had a long-awaited appointment with a psychiatrist at Children’s in DC.  You can read about the waiting here.  Other than the constant screaming in the car for the entire forty minute drive and the spectacle of Chad and I dragging her (screaming) through the entire hospital because she refused to walk, it was a lackluster appointment.  Oh… When I say that we drug her through the entire hospital, I mean the ENTIRE hospital.  Seriously!  Not sure what genius hospital planner came up with the idea, but Psych is at the complete opposite end of the hospital from the parking garage.  ‘Cause you know?  Kids with psych issues just love to pass through chaotic, noisy space and encounter as many people as possible en route to a doctor’s appointment that already has them paralyzed with anxiety.

Hospital planning people, if you’re reading this, could you pretty please relocate the psych department a little closer to the ER?  Thanks.

The doctor didn’t do any assessments on Sofija.  She did take my hand and kindly tell me things that I really don’t want to accept about Sofija’s future and she gave us a prescription that is sitting on the kitchen counter like a flippin’ 300lb gorilla.  It’s a prescription for the same medication her developmental pediatrician suggested at the end of last year.  It’s a medication that will likely help her with her impulses and self-injury and aggression.  It’s also a medication that could have some serious long-term side effects.

I’m raising royalty.  I’m fighting for her/them like crazy.  I want to give all of my children every opportunity to reach their full potential and to experience peace, joy, and freedom every single day of their lives.

Please pray for me and Dear Hubby as we weigh the cost-benefit analysis of this new medication.  We need the wisdom of Solomon right now.

 

4 thoughts on “raising royalty

  1. Phyliss says:

    You & Chad are my heros! Thank you for giving 200% to the precious gifts that God has given you to care for. What an awesome job you do. I love you all.

  2. Chris Ogden says:

    I just wrote a long response and realized you didn’t ask for anyone’s opinion. I will pray that you make the right decision for your family and for Sofija and you have complete peace about it. If you want to talk, please call me. Our families are walking the same crappy path right now. It’s temporary…we’ll get through it. On a funny note, Daniel had a breakdown at church and flipped off the priest….in the front row…in the middle of the aisle….during the Consecration.

  3. Brianne says:

    I’m disappointed for you and Sofija (and for us…we are holding out on this appointment, because I’m not ready to hear that meds are the only option available, I guess). I hope that, if you decide to move forward with the medication, it’s perfect for her and has the effect that she needs.

  4. Beautiful and heart wrenching at the same time. I cannot imagine what you are going through. I will keep your family in my prayers. On a happy note…holy cow! You actually get comments on your posts! How do you do that? I’ve had people say they leave comments, but none ever show up. Just curious which comment system you are using?

Leave a Reply

