we gotcha two years ago

Three years ago today I went to a hot yoga class with my precious friend Lindsey.  It was torturous and we agreed to never go back.  Yoga is supposed to be peaceful.  This particular class was run by a retired drill sergeant who screamed at us throughout the entire hour of 100 degree hell.  I remember that it happened on April 27th because Lindsey called her sister JJ (another precious girly) on the way to the class to wish her a “Happy Birthday.”  April 27th, 2009 was a day of blissful ignorance.  The hardest part of that day was being yelled at by the former drill sergeant.  I had absolutely no clue that one year later I would be half-way around the world becoming the mother of a little girl who is better described as a force of nature than sugar and spice.  On April 27th, 2009, if that mean yoga instructor in his creepy little speedo had asked me to find Serbia on the globe, I would have burst into tears or puked.  I was already sweating profusely, so I’m sure tears and vomit would have appeared quickly.  Anyway…. three years ago I had never heard of Serbia.  One year later, I was there claiming my child.

Click here to read about our Gotcha Day….

Baby Girl, you’ve broken me and changed me and molded me and aged me.  You’ve become a thread in the fabric that is weaving the story of my life.  You’ve taken up residence in my heart.  You’ve shown me that loving and nurturing are two of the most valuable gifts a human can receive or give.  God has used you to prove to me that His grace truly is sufficient (2 Corinthians 12:9) and that He really does bless those who trust Him and place their hope and confidence in Him (Jeremiah 17:7).  We love you like crazy and we wouldn’t trade you for any other seven year old girl in the world!

Jeremiah 29:11 “For I know the plans I have for Sofija, declares the Lord.  Plans to prosper her and not to harm her.  Plans to give her hope and a future.”

Leave a Reply

