one-year journey

originally published April 30, 2011 at http://kacinpoint.com

One year ago today I dressed my daughter of three days in her “going home” outfit, boarded a plane in Belgrade with my other four favorite family members, and began her journey home.  Today I return.   There are literally hundreds of pieces to the puzzle that created this journey that simply cannot be explained in any way except that God is “so freakin’ amazing”.  I would like to say that God will move mountains in the coming days, but that would be the wrong tense.  He already has moved the mountains.  He already wrote the script for this amazing adventure that I’m privileged to be a part of.

I had hoped to travel with the rest of our team.  It just didn’t work out that way and I ended up flying to London, all by myself (feel free to sing that line), on the day of the royal wedding.  I’m not a globe-trotter.  Oh wait.  Maybe I am.  I’m just not really a frequent-flyer.  I have, however been on a fair number of flights in my life.  In all my travels I cannot recall a pilot announcing anything that I wanted to save as a soundbite and replay frequently.  Keeping in line with everything else about this journey, just before takeoff the pilot gave a usual spiel with an unexpected finish.  In all honesty, I could not tell you if it was a “usual spiel” because I can’t really recall anything other than his last sentence….”Everyone have a VERY blessed journey.”  Just in case you want to play the soundbite yourself, he had a lovely British accent and he pronounced bless-ed with two syllables.

Flying into London was amazing. Our final approach was right along the Thames. I was sitting on the eastern side of the plane and the sun rose just as we descended low enough to clearly see the huge manor houses all along the river. BEAUTIFUL! I want to come back to England and actually leave the airport.  While flying through London was not what I had envisioned or expected, it did give me an opportunity to pick up the very last copy of the Daily Mail ~ Royal Souvenir Edition, to be found in Heathrow.  It just so happens that Daily Mail is the complimentary newspaper provided by the airline I flew.  Lucky me!

Psalm 25:4-5

Show me the right path, O Lord;
point out the road for me to follow.
Lead me by your truth and teach me,
for you are the God who saves me.
All day long I put my hope in you.

One thought on “one-year journey

Leave a Reply

