lifesong

originally published May 9, 2011 at http://kacinpoint.com

Sitting in the Nikola Tesla airport today in Belgrade, Serbia I looked around and wondered how many of the people passing by have ever had the opportunity to know that they were a part of something really big.  The kind of thing that cuts off evil and corruption at the root and paves a path of freedom.

As my dear friend Samuil drove us up to the airport, I glowed over the happenings of the morning and the fact that I have spent ten days swimming in the presence of God in a place where I spent three weeks swimming in spiritual oppression one year ago.  The last song to play on the radio before Sam parked the car was this…..

Empty Hands held high
Such Small sacrifice
If not joined with my life
I sing in vain tonight

May the words I say
And the things I do
Make my lifesong sing
Bring a smile to you

Let my lifesong sing to You
Let my life song sing to You
I want to sign your name
to the end of this day
Knowing that my heart was true
Let my lifesong sing to You

Lord, I give my life
A Living sacrifice
To reach a world in need
To be your hands and feet

So may the words I say
And the things I do
Make my lifesong sing
Bring a smile to you

Let my lifesong sing to You
Let my life song sing to You
I want to sign your name
to the end of this day
Knowing that my heart was true
Let my lifesong sing to You

Hallelujah, Hallelujah,
Let my lifesong sing to You

Let my lifesong sing to You
Let my life song sing to You
I want to sign your name
to the end of this day
Knowing that my heart was true
Let my lifesong sing to You

At the end of this day, I can assuredly sign the name of my Father to all that unfolded.  If you followed our adoption of Sofija, you know that we experienced quite a bit of turmoil while we were on the ground in Serbia.  That turmoil surrounded the corrupt actions of an adoption facilitator who had a serious conflict of interest.  You see, she was a pediatrician at the orphanage where Sofija spent the first three years of her life.  She was being paid by the government to look out for the best interest of the children in her care and…she was being paid by families to facilitate adoptions.  Serbia’s policy is that no employee of the government can profit from an adoption.

This woman has profited from every single American adoption since Serbia began allowing international adoption.  She asked for cash and she asked that we give it to her in a private discreet location.  She used the threat that all international adoptions would stop if we “made trouble”.  She very soon labeled our family “troublemakers”.  By the time I began planning this trip, she had labeled me her “Judas”.

The ministry that oversees her had information that indicated what she was doing before we arrived in Serbia.  On the day we arrived, we were questioned by ministry officials.  Our older three children were separated from us and they were also questioned.  A can of worms was opened.

This morning, fifty-five weeks after that first day of questioning, I was given the opportunity to sit in the exact same room and have an open discussion with the exact same ministry officials.  This meeting was much different from our last.  First of all, this meeting began with two of my favorite prayer-warrior women on the planet and Sam (a pastor) walking into that ministry building with me.  My friend from the adoption community Leah and her friend Mary were also there.  The six of us prayed in the lobby of the building and Lisa and Rachelle (the warrior women) stayed downstairs and prayed while the rest of us went upstairs.

My verse for the week….

Deuteronomy 31:8

“The LORD himself goes before you and will be with you; he will never leave you nor forsake you. Do not be afraid; do not be discouraged.”

He went before me.  The corrupt facilitator is no longer facilitating.  I signed my name to the evidence being used against her.  I listened to all the details of how international adoptions are supposed to take place in Serbia.  And….I was told to leave with the peace that children WILL be adopted.

Yep.  God can sign his name to this day 🙂

Leave a Reply

