us

My parents divorced when I was 5 and between the ages of 7 and 14, I would get under my bed, lie face down, and pray for my husband.  I asked God to take care of him and to make him be the kind of man who did not believe in divorce.  I asked God to make him be the kind of man who would always be willing to drop everything and get down on the floor and play with his kids.  I asked God to make him funny and to give him dark hair and light eyes.  I asked God to make him smart and hard-working and to give him a job that paid good money (I didn’t want Him to leave anything out).  I also asked God to make him a Godly man who would love me till the day he died.

On February 18, 1989….we met…

in Washington DC.

That summer we graduated from high school….and got engaged (insert laughter.)

He went to college in Missouri.  I went to LSU.  By the end of our 1st semester, we had agreed to “take a break”.

Two years later we met for a long weekend of skiing in Colorado.

It would take 3 more years for him to come find me and beg me to marry him ;).

And on February 18, 1994…five years after we met…’we’ became ‘us’.

God answered all my prayers.

Leave a Reply

